

Media Release

October 19, 2022 For immediate release

Official results declared for RDCK General Local Elections and Electoral Area H Local Conservation Fund referendum

Nelson, BC: The official results of the October 15, 2022 General Local Elections for Directors to represent the Electoral Areas of the Regional District of Central Kootenay (RDCK) and the Electoral Area H Local Conservation Fund referendum have been declared by the RDCK Chief Elections Officer.

Elections were held in five of the RDCK's 11 Electoral Areas, while six Directors were acclaimed. In total there will be five new Directors joining the RDCK Board of Directors, while Hans Cunningham will return for his 10th term as Electoral Area G Director.

A total of 3,080 voters participated in the five elections, out of 12,326 eligible voters in areas B, C, E, G and J. The average voter turnout was 25%.

Electoral Area	Director	Acclaimed/Elected		
Area A	Garry Jackman	Acclaimed – Incumbent		
Area B	Roger Tierney	Elected – New		
Area C	Kelly Vandenberghe	Elected – New		
Area D	Aimee Watson	Acclaimed – Incumbent		
Area E	Cheryl Graham	Elected – New		
Area F	Tom Newell	Acclaimed – Incumbent		
Area G	Hans Cunningham	Elected - Incumbent		
Area H	Walter Popoff	Acclaimed – Incumbent		
Area I	Andy Davidoff	Acclaimed – Incumbent		
Area J	Henny Hanegraaf Elected – New			
Area K	Teresa Weatherhead	Acclaimed - New		

The incoming RDCK Board will include the following Electoral Area Directors:

Municipal Directors representing the nine RDCK member municipalities will be appointed at their inaugural Council meetings. All Directors will be sworn in at the inaugural RDCK Board meeting on November 17, 2022.

The final determination of the voting results follows.

REGIONAL DISTRICT OF CENTRAL KOOTENAY GENERAL LOCAL ELECTIONS VOTING RESULTS – FINAL DETERMINATION

ELECTORAL AREA B

ALL VOTING STATIONS	ROGER TIERNEY	TANYA WALL	SPOILED/REJECTED	TOTAL
VOTER TURNOUT:	550	247	2	799
22.1% (3615 on the				
Voters List)				

ELECTORAL AREA C

ALL VOTING STATIONS	ADAM CASEMORE	KELLY VANDENBERGHE	SPOILED/REJECTED	TOTAL
VOTER TURNOUT:	63	213	2	278
23.9% (1160 on the				
Voters List)				

ELECTORAL AREA E

	REGGIE	CHERYL	DAN RYE		SPOILED/REJECTED	TOTAL
STATIONS	GOLDSBURY	GRAHAM		VEREGIN		
VOTER	133	425	122	416	16	1,112
TURNOUT:						
32.8% (3386						
on the						
Voters List)						

ELECTORAL AREA G

ALL VOTING STATIONS	ANNA BUNDSCHUH	HANS CUNNINGHAM	FARRELL SEGALL	SPOILED/REJECTED	TOTAL
VOTER	190	224	13	2	429
TURNOUT:					
33.3% (1287 on					
the Voters List)					

ELECTORAL AREA J

ALL VOTING STATIONS	HENNY HANEGRAAF	KIM TASSONE	SPOILED/REJECTED	TOTAL
VOTER TURNOUT: 16%	266	193	3	462
(2878 on the Voters				
List)				

The referendum for the Local Conservation Fund in Electoral Area H has been declared successful. At total of 671 voters participated in the referendum, out of 3,837 voters on the voters list in the service area. Voter turnout on the referendum was 17.5% with 435 votes for yes, 228 votes for no and eight spoiled or rejected ballots.

Eligible voters were asked if they were in favour of the adoption of the Regional District of Central Kootenay Local Conservation Fund Service bylaw expanding to include Electoral Area H. As a participant in the service, \$15 per parcel of land will be collected annually.

In partnership with the <u>Kootenay Conservation Program (KCP</u>), Electoral Area H will join Areas A, D and E in the local conservation fund service. The service creates dedicated funding to support local high-priority conservation projects.

REGIONAL DISTRICT OF CENTRAL KOOTENAY LOCAL CONSERVATION FUND SERVICE BYLAW NO. 2811 ASSENT VOTING RESULTS – FINAL DETERMINATION

Electoral Area H	Yes	No	Spoiled/Rejected	Total	In Favour	Result
Voter Turnout:	435	228	8	671	Yes	Successful
17.5% (3837 on						
Voters List)						

Incorporated in 1965, the Regional District of Central Kootenay (RDCK) is a local government that serves 60,000 residents in 11 electoral areas and nine member municipalities. The RDCK provides more than 160 services, including community facilities, fire protection and emergency services, grants, planning and land use, regional parks, resource recovery and handling, transit, water services and much more. For more information about the RDCK, visit <u>www.rdck.ca</u>.

-30-

For further information, please contact:

Tom Dool Chief Elections Officer Regional District of Central Kootenay Tel: 250.352.8173 Email: <u>elections@rdck.bc.ca</u>

For media enquiries:

Dan Elliott Communications Coordinator Regional District of Central Kootenay Tel: 250.354.3476 Email: <u>delliott@rdck.bc.ca</u>